Ensemble – A C M E


Arizona Contemporary Music Ensemble


The Arizona Contemporary Music Ensemble is dedicated to the performance and promotion of music from the 20th and 21st centuries.  ACME was founded by Dr. Glenn Hackbarth in 1978 and it is now under the artistic direction of Simone Mancuso. Since its inception, the group has performed over 900 works, including many world and Arizona premieres.

ACME offers students the opportunity to perform at the highest professional level, playing the most significant music of our time, from masterworks of the 20th century, to the most recent works of this century, including compositions by ASU faculty and student composers.

ACME recently toured in Switzerland, performing at the prestigious Zurich University, Lugano Conservatory of Music, and at the Boswil Contemporary Music Center. During the tour, the group premiered 3 new works written for the ensemble, and collaborated with Swiss, American, and German composers.

Since 2009, ACME is the official ensemble in residence of the PRISMS Contemporary Music Festival at Arizona State University.



Flute: Stephanie Hoeckley, Kelly Davis, Sarah Hartong, Dana Carey
Oboe: Alexis Mitchel
Clarinet: Kristi Hanno, Josh Bennett, Julia Lougheed
Bassoon: Kiefer Strickland
Horn: Juli Smith
Trumpet: Spencer Brand, Julian Iralu
Trombone: Julia Broome-Robinson
Tuba: Ramon Garavito
Violin: Megyn Neff, Clarice Collins
Viola: Yen Fang Chen
Cello: Luciana Gallo, Jacob Barker
Double bass: Lea Ale
Piano: Karen Nguyen, Juliana Witt, Jeremiah Sweeney
Percussion: Lindsay De Leon, Jingya Zhou, Travis Rowland